Edem Agbana Wins UG SRC Presidential Election

Eric Edem AgbanaMaster Edem Agbana has been elected as the new SRC president of the University of Ghana.

The Student Representative Council executive election came off on Friday 19th April after it was called off last week.

The position of presidency was keenly contested by Dinko Hanaan Dinko, Michael Adjei Darkwah, Amelia Amemetey and the eventual winner Edem Agbana.

RELATED STORY: KNUST Elects Caleb Fugah As New SRC President

Out of the of 5,517 valid votes cast, Amelia Amemetey polled 40 votes representing 0.71%, Dinko Hanaan Dinko, 1110 votes representing 20.12%, Michael Adjei Darkwah polled 1479 representing 26.81% and Edem Agbana, 2888 votes representing 52.36%.

For the position of Secretary, Ms. Sandra Ewool won with total vote of 4174 with her only competitor polling 1168.

The position of Treasurer was won by Paa Kwesi Dadson. Paa won impressively with a 58.21% of the total votes cast representing 3119. Solomon Addo, also aspiring for the same position polled 2239 of the total votes cast representing 41.79%.

Voting at the various polling centers went on smoothly as no disruptive incident was recorded.

Assisted by his vice, Kwame Asare Antwi, president-elect Eric Edem Agbana will succeed Edmond Kombat and will service between the 2013/2014 academic period.


  1. pls when should i expect the 2013/2014 admissions list?

Leave a Reply


Check Also

Students Won’t Defer Courses – Legon SRC

The leadership of the Students Representative Council (SRC) of the University of Ghana, Legon, has ...